Through the Windowpane


Composed by Chee-Hwa Tan, the Asian Edition of Through the Windowpane is a collection of seven captivating piano solos. Each piece corresponds with a poem by Robert Louis Stevenson. These pieces are intended to encourage young pianists to explore the inherent value of poetry in music and to be bold in expressing that same poetry in performance.

Product Information: 16 pages. Elementary Level.

Click here to view all of Chee-Hwa’s books.

SKU: CHWAWindowA Categories: ,


Composed at the elementary level, Through the Windowpane is a collection of seven engaging piano solos.

Watch SuperScore Video

The titles are as follows:

  1. Looking Glass River
  2. Rain
  3. Shadow March
  4. Night…
  5. …and Day
  6. Winter Time
  7. The Swing

Click here to listen to Night…

Click here to listen to The Swing

A note from the composer:

“Through the Windowpane is a prequel to A Child’s Garden of Verses, my first set of solos based on poems by Robert Louis Stevenson. The playing level of this new collection is easier than the first book. The pieces have been written for the early level pianists, giving them the opportunity to experience and experiment with the wonderful rainbow of sound colors they can create at the piano.

All the pieces in Through the Windowpane feature a keyboard range of at least three to four octaves. I have tried to limit the challenges in each piece to specific technical and musical concepts necessary for successfully making the transition from the beginning method book to early classical repertoire. Pedal markings can be adjusted to suit the student’s ability: more pedal may be added with appropriate teacher guidance.”

Chee-Hwa Tan has a passion for nurturing the art and love of music making in pianists of all ages and levels. Her compositions encourage students to explore and express sound images at the piano while developing specific technical skills necessary for artistic playing.

Chee-Hwa’s solo piano music is published by Piano Safari; with selections included in the Repertoire and Study syllabi of the Royal Conservatory of Music, Canada, the Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music, London, and the London College of Music. Her publishing company, Dayung Sampan Music, expands her philosophy of music making and artistry to other instrumental combinations at all levels.

A native of Malaysia and a naturalized U.S. citizen, Chee-Hwa holds Masters’ degrees in Piano Performance and Piano Pedagogy from the Southern Methodist University and a B.A. in Piano Performance and English from Oral Roberts University. Her teachers include Alfred Mouledous, Joaquin Achucarro, E. Gregory Nagode, and Joyce Bridgman. Chee-Hwa lives in Colorado where she and her husband Chris have raised four children who are avid music makers.

Additional information

Weight .1875 lbs
Purchasing Options

Hardcopy Book (Not available in Australia), Single User Digital Book


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Through the Windowpane”

You may also like…