Circus Sonatinas


Composed by Chee-Hwa Tan, the Asian Edition of Circus Sonatinas is a collection of two colorful Sonatinas with three movements each.

Product Information: 16 pages. Late Elementary Level.

Click here to view all of Chee-Hwa’s books.

SKU: CHWACircusA Category:


Composed at the late elementary level, Circus Sonatinas contains two Sonatinas with three movements each.

Watch SuperScore Video

The Sonatinas are as follows:

Circus Sonatina

  1. Ringmaster’s Parade
  2. The Flying Trapeze (for the very brave…)
  3. Black Bear Boogie

Big-Top Sonatina

  1. Clown Capers
  2. Those Amazing Elephants!
  3. Ferocious Lions (jump through the flames…)

A note from the composer:

“The sonatina form is explored via the imagery of the circus. It is my hope that this will allow students to use their imagination in expressing the contrasting musical themes that occur in the sonatina. All this can be vividly related to the characters and activity in the circus ring. Metronome markings are primarily suggestions and should not hinder young pianists in their interpretation and exploration of the piano’s many sounds and colors.”

Chee-Hwa Tan’s solo piano music is published by Piano Safari; with selections included in the Repertoire and Study syllabi of the Royal Conservatory of Music, Canada, the Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music, London, and the London College of Music. Her publishing company, Dayung Sampan Music, expands her philosophy of music making and artistry to other instrumental combinations at all levels.

A native of Malaysia and a naturalized U.S. citizen, Chee-Hwa holds Masters’ degrees in Piano Performance and Piano Pedagogy from the Southern Methodist University and a B.A. in Piano Performance and English from Oral Roberts University. Her teachers include Alfred Mouledous, Joaquin Achucarro, E. Gregory Nagode, and Joyce Bridgman. Chee-Hwa lives in Colorado where she and her husband Chris have raised four children who are avid music makers.

Additional information

Weight .1875 lbs
Purchasing Options

Hardcopy Book and Digital Audio (Not available in Australia), Single User Digital Book


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Circus Sonatinas”

You may also like…